February 28, 2024


Exlusive News Portal

Bye-election: APC wins Yauri/Shanga/Ngaski Federal Constituency seat in Kebbi

1 min read


The Independent National Electoral Commission, INEC, has declared Umar Garba-Uba as winner of the rerun election for Yauri/Shanga/Ngaski Federal Constituency in Kebbi, held on Saturday.

The Returning Officer, Prof. Abbas Yusuf-Bazata of the Federal University Birnin Kebbi, FUBK, made the declaration in Yauri,Yauri Local Government Area on Sunday.

He said Garba-Uba of the All Progressives Congress, APC, polled 54,885 votes to defeat his closest opponent, Garba Hassan of Peoples Democratic Party, PDP, who polled 16,652 votes.

Yususf-Bazata said that the total number of votes cast was 74,469, valid votes 72,343, while invalid votes were 2,126.

He expressed appreciation to INEC officials, party agents, security agencies, members of the media, and all other stakeholders for playing a vital role to ensure a hitch-free exercise.

The election was conducted peacefully without report of chaos and hitches across the area.

Alhaji Lukman Yauri, APC Assistant State Public Relations Officer, PRO, who spoke to newsmen after the announcement of the result, said the party had done well in the execution of projects in the state.

He urged the people of the state to support the present administration at all levels to deliver dividends of democracy to all parts of the state.

The spokesman assured the people of the area that the member would ensure quality representation and would not disappoint them.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *